Mind

Cryptograms make my brain hurt

There are some things that my brain is just not made to do. I consider myself a pretty smart person. I mostly make sound decisions and am analytical. I earned good grades in school a million years ago. I graduated from college a half a million years ago. I take continuing education courses to keep my brain challenged. BUT…Cryptograms…they are outside my realm of expertise and my brain hurts when I try them. Sometimes I even cheat and get help from the answer key. WHAT? Yup. That’s me…I cheat on Cryptograms because I can NEVER figure them out on my own.

Here’s one I tried recently. It is published in “Brain Games – Lower Your Brain Age in Minutes a Day” by Publications International Ltd(2008). The Cryptogram is entitled “Who’s there?”

“YVHH, MR M STHHVO BQV YCGKN KDLWVC, YQX OMO XGD 

TKEYVC BQV JQGKV?”

– PTLVE BQDCWVC

I failed miserably at this one. I also have no patience, so the fact that the puzzle was hard and took up time, made me give up. But I tried 🙂 so my brain is in a better place than it was before Mr Cryptogram of the day entered my life. Right? LOL
Give it a try and have fun. The instructions from the book state,”Cryptograms are messages in substitution code. Break the code to read the message. For example, THE SMART CAT might become FVO QWGDF JGF if F is substituted for T, V for H, O for E, and so on.”
Good Luck!

One thought on “Cryptograms make my brain hurt

Leave a comment