Mind · Spirit

I’m going to get political

It’s not what you think, I don’t think it is anyway.  Well…maybe a little.  I’ve been troubled by politics lately. I’m not a fan of what is going on.  People are outraged, myself included.  So I wanted to do SOMETHING to help myself make sense of it all.  I mean, there are ALOT of things happening that I really don’t understand.  I’m having anxiety over it so I have to DO something to relieve the “What is this world coming to” stress.  I have to educate myself so I don’t sound like an ignorant ranting fool on social media or even at the water cooler at work.

I was tapped into NPR as usual on my way to work and hearing the nonsense  about banning people (God’s children, just sayin’)  who belong in the U.S. from coming here/returning here; people who have already gone through “extreme vetting” and have all the proper paperwork.  I also read some immigrant friends’ facebook posts where they went into detail about what they went through to get here…be here…stay here years ago prior to “the ban”.  Definitely seems extensive and almost intrusive, but it’s for our safety, right? So I’m good with it.  But the ban…not so good with that, but that’s a different blog…maybe.

Then there is the citizenship factor.  Should an immigrant choose (and it is a choice) to become a citizen of this ALREADY great country, what do they have to do?  Do they REALLY have to take a test to see if they know things about the good old U.S of A. that most natural born Americans don’t know or remember?  That’s what “people” say on social media, but you can’t believe everything you read there.  I needed to find out.  So my journey began.

I started here at usa.gov.  Seems logical, right?  I found myself most interested in “the test”.  What is this test?  Is it difficult?  Could I even pass the thing?  Here’s what I found out… (disclaimer…this is my basic research for my own interest, so if you happen to be applying for U.S. citizenship please go to usa.gov for all the details).

Besides the loads of eligibility requirements that a person must meet in order to apply for citizenship through naturalization, they must take a Naturalization Test.  There is an English test and a Civics test that are required unless a person quaifies for an exemption, blah, blah, blah.  Study materials are provided online for both, but it’s this Civics test that interests me.

There is  a practice test that I decided to try before reviewing the study material.  This practice test is multiple choice BUT the real test is not!  The real test is conducted in an interview with a USCIS officer where he or she will ask up to 10 questions from a list of 100 possible questions.  The applicant has to get 6 out of 10 correct in order to pass.  Typically these questions will be asked in English unless the applicant  meets certain eligibility requirements, blah, blah, blah… How did I do on the practice test? I got a 90% BUT without the multiple choice I would not have done as well.  Here are the questions presented to me:

  1. What do we call the first 10 amendments to the Constitution?
  2. There were 13 original states.  Name 3.
  3. Which is one right or freedom from the First Amendment?
  4. What is the political party of the President now?
  5. What was one important thing Abraham Lincoln did?
  6. What major event happened on September 11, 2001?
  7. There are four amendments to the Constitution about who can vote.  Describe one of them.
  8. What is one responsibility that is only for U.S. citizens?
  9. Who makes federal laws?
  10. Why did the colonists fight the British?
  11. What does the President’s Cabinet do?
  12. The Federalist Papers supported the passage of the U.S. Constitution.  Name one of the writers.
  13. What territory did the U.S. buy from France in 1803?
  14. How many amendments does the Constitution have?
  15. We elect a U.S. Senator for how many years?
  16. What group of people was taken to America and sold as slaves?
  17. What is the name of the national anthem?
  18. What is the “rule of law”?
  19. Name one problem that led to the Civil War.
  20. What happened at the Constitutional Convention?

Do American’s really know this stuff, without studying?  Do our elected or appointed  officals know?  Should they be given this test before taking office? Do I know the answers without the multiple choice?  Clearly not all of them and this is only 20 of the 100 questions.  Maybe if I was  in high school and currently enrolled in a Civics course or have a REALLY good memory dating back to my teen years OR perhaps if I’d majored in Civics in college? I don’t know but some of these questions….yikes.

My opinion…any American citizen would have to study the 100 possible questions in order to pass.  For me, I’d like to continue to study this stuff.  I should know these facts that our government deems important enough for people becoming citizens through naturalization to  know.   How else can I function and be a good citizen.  How else can I honestly post or discuss my opinions if I can’t answer 100 basic questions about our government and American History?   Personally I feel driven to educate myself in the midst of some of the nonsense happening in our government.  I challenge you to do the same.

One thought on “I’m going to get political

  1. Oh wow. You’re right, I wouldn’t pass without major studying … and even then I’d be stressed because I’m not a good test taker LoL I’m really glad you posted this … I fully intend to look into these questions more because I agree – I should know the answers too. Maybe we can learn together? 😊

    Like

Leave a comment