Mind

Shhhhh…don’t tell anyone

Promise you won’t tell anyone?  Actually some of you already know, but…shhhh…

I play the piano…a little.  I’m not great or really even good anymore, but I love to play…for myself.  It’s like therapy and a distraction from life’s drama.  A place where I can escape and only think about the notes on the page and the “music” coming from the keys.

I took piano lessons from a very talented young woman beginning in middle school.  I don’t remember how long I took lessons for, maybe through high school?   I enjoyed learning to play, but HATED the classical stuff mostly because I was a teenager who wanted to learn music that I heard on the radio. AND the piano concerts to show off my skills…HATED, didn’t want to do them and may have even refused.  Brenda (the very talented young woman) was a saint because I was a P.I.T.A.  I wasn’t much into performing for others and really just wanted to play for me.  I’m still that way.  I don’t mind playing at the house when its just my immediate family, but I.will.not.perform.for.others.   Just not my thing.  A waste of “talent”?  I think not. 🙂

So…Recently I learned something new.  Something I knew about, but didn’t know the “how”.   Something that IF I learned earlier in life, I don’t remember learning it.  Something I saw my little brother, who also took piano lessons, do which made me wonder, but I never pursued.  What is it?

I’ve started to learn chords…sounds basic right?  Well, let me tell you what.  This allows me to play “fake” or what people call “fake”, but I think it’s awesome!  I’m not memorizing ALL of the chords out there, BUT if there’s a song I like, I will learn the chords AND since I already know how to play, the melodies are EASY!  Voila! I can “fake” my way through a song in no time AND I sound like I’m playing really well, but in reality it’s all relatively EASY!  Why did I not try this earlier in my life?  It’s so much less stressful than learning  every note for the right and left hand on a peice of sheet music. Woot Woot!

Now I play every day because it’s just fun and easy.

Shhhh…don’t tell Brenda LOL  And in case you’re wondering…I will still not play for others…it’s a me thing.  ðŸ™‚

Leave a comment